NYSAC Upholds Draw for Davis-Roach Fight Despite Referee Error
NYSAC Upholds Draw for Davis-Roach Fight Despite Referee Error

NYSAC Upholds Draw for Davis-Roach Fight Despite Referee Error

News summary

The New York State Athletic Commission (NYSAC) has upheld the majority draw ruling from the Gervonta Davis vs. Lamont Roach fight, despite acknowledging that referee Steve Willis made an error by not calling a knockdown in the ninth round when Davis took a knee. Two judges scored the bout 114-114 while one scored it 115-113 for Davis. Roach's team had appealed the decision, arguing that the fight's outcome could have been significantly different had the knockdown been called, which would have likely resulted in a win for Roach. The NYSAC ruled that the bout continued for several rounds after the disputed call, making it impossible to determine if the outcome would have changed. Both fighters have expressed interest in a rematch, which could draw significant attention and revenue given the contentious nature of their first bout. Davis remains unbeaten with a record of 30-0-1, while Roach's career record stands at 25-1-2.

Story Coverage
Bias Distribution
50% Center
Information Sources
e71de608-4cf4-4ab0-9aee-5646a4b196cd68e7fc5e-537b-4887-b796-fbd29c315618
Left 50%
Center 50%
Coverage Details
Total News Sources
2
Left
1
Center
1
Right
0
Unrated
0
Last Updated
24 days ago
Bias Distribution
50% Center
Related News
Daily Index

Negative

25Serious

Neutral

Optimistic

Positive

Ask VT AI
Story Coverage

Related Topics

Subscribe

Stay in the know

Get the latest news, exclusive insights, and curated content delivered straight to your inbox.

Present

Gift Subscriptions

The perfect gift for understanding
news from all angles.

Related News
Recommended News