DeChambeau Dodges Penalty in US Open Rules Flap
DeChambeau Dodges Penalty in US Open Rules Flap

DeChambeau Dodges Penalty in US Open Rules Flap

News summary

Bryson DeChambeau, the defending U.S. Open champion at Oakmont, narrowly avoided a two-stroke penalty after his caddie picked up his ball from a spectator crosswalk without marking its location on the par-5 fourth hole. This forced DeChambeau to take relief from a less favorable spot, and he then mistakenly placed the ball instead of dropping it from knee height as required. A rules official intervened just in time, preventing him from incurring a penalty that could have turned his par into a double bogey and worsened his opening round score of 3-over 73. Commentators described the errors as surprising for a player of his stature, but DeChambeau managed to salvage par on the hole and remains in contention. The incident underscored the critical importance of adhering to golf’s rules during major tournaments. No penalty was ultimately assessed.

Story Coverage
Bias Distribution
100% Right
Information Sources
605a98c4-d25e-430b-86c1-9232b14faa6b
Right 100%
Coverage Details
Total News Sources
1
Left
0
Center
0
Right
1
Unrated
0
Last Updated
5 days ago
Bias Distribution
100% Right
Related News
Daily Index

Negative

23Serious

Neutral

Optimistic

Positive

Ask VT AI
Story Coverage

Related Topics

Subscribe

Stay in the know

Get the latest news, exclusive insights, and curated content delivered straight to your inbox.

Present

Gift Subscriptions

The perfect gift for understanding
news from all angles.

Related News
Recommended News